Adekola Wins ACPN National Chairmanship Election


Pharm. Samuel Oluwaoromipin Adekola, former national vice-chairman, Association of Community Pharmacists of Nigeria (ACPN), has emerged the winner of the ACPN National Chairmanship Election held, Friday, 6  July 2018, during the association’s Annual General Meeting at the SIO Event Centre, Benin City, Edo State, beating his opponent, Pharm. Chima Ogbu with a total of 292 to 288 votes.

According to the results announced by the Chairman, ACPN Electoral body, Pharm. Yunusa Mohid Nasir, a fellow of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria, the total number of 580 delegates were accredited and participated in the election, with Pharm. Adekola, a community pharmacist from Akure, Ondo State, polling 292 votes to edge his closest opponent, Pharm. Chima Ogbu, from Rivers State, who polled 288 votes. The latter was declared the winner and presented with the certificate of office, having garnered the highest votes.

L-R: Prince Chris Nebe, managing director, Pharmatex Industries Nigeria Limited; Sen. (Pharm.) Mathew Urhoghide, chairman, Senate Committee on Public Account; Pharm. Samuel Adekola, newly sworn in ACPN national chairman; Dr UNO Uwaga, chairman, ACPN Board of Trustees; And Pharm. (Dr) Albert Kelong Alkali, immediate past national chairman, ACPN, after the swearing- in ceremony.

The electoral body chairman also announced Pharm. Sunday Ike, a community pharmacist from Abuja, and former chairman, ACPN, Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Abuja, the winner of the national publicity secretary post with 331 votes, beating his opponent, Pharm. Babatunde Samuel, popularly known as ‘BABSAM’,  from Ilorin, and former chairman, ACPN, Kwara State, with 244 votes.

Speaking further, the respected pharmacist, noted that out of the available seven slots, the remaining five, which were national vice-chairman; national secretary; national assistant secretary; national treasurer, and national financial secretary, were contested unopposed.

According to him, Pharm. Abosede Idowu, and Pharm. Wuyeb Nankap, the national secretary, and national assistant secretary respectively, were returned unopposed, while Pharm. (Rev.) Dan Ajayi, national vice-chairman; Pharm. Ashore Omokhafe, financial secretary; and Pharm. Ambrose Eze, national treasurer, contested unopposed and were declared winners of the election.

Speaking during his acceptance speech, the newly elected National Chairman, ACPN, Pharm. Samuel Adekola, gave thanks to God for granting him success in the election, however, he appealed to aggrieved members of the association to bury the hatchet, noting that any crack would be detrimental to ACPN and community pharmacy practice in the country.

NAPharm Inaugurates Substance Abuse Committee

“As I dedicate this success to all community pharmacists in the country who trusted and believe in my ability to lead this association, I want to say I am truly blessed and humbled by this divine favour, while I especially appreciate my campaign team members, who stood by me through the darkest moments of this exercise, you have remained my pillar of strength. I would not have been able to do this without their untiring support and advice” he said.

The high point of the event was the presentation of certificate and swearing in of the new members of the executive which was conducted by the Chief Judge of Edo State, Justice Esohe Frances Ikponmwen, who was represented by Hon. Justice Anthony. N Erhabor, who was assisted by Sen. (Pharm) Mathew Urhoghide, chairman, Senate Committee on Public Account, and Pharm. (Dr) Albert Kelong Alkali, outgoing chairman, ACPN


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments