Yakasai Inaugurates Oluyole 2018 CPC


The quest to ensure that the 91st edition of the Annual National Conference of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN) is a success is already in top gear as Pharm. Ahmed Yakasai, president, PSN,  has inaugurated the Conference Planning Committee (CPC) for the conference.

Speaking at the inauguration ceremony held at the Pharmacy House, Anthony Lagos on Thursday, Pharm. Yakasai charged the members of the CPC to work hard and ensure that the 2018 PSN conference tagged “Oluyole 2018” is a bigger and better conference compared to the successful 2017 edition, held in Umuahia, Abia State.

The PSN helmsman disclosed that the upcoming conference is billed to be held at the prestigious International Conference Centre, Ibadan, Oyo State, which has a 4000 capacity hall, adding that the theme of the conference is “Innovative Disruption in Pharmacy in Emerging Economies-Roadmap for Nigeria”.

He disclosed further that the keynote speaker for the conference, scheduled to hold from Monday 29 October to Saturday 3 November, is Pharm. Clare Omatseye, MD/CEO , JNC International Limited, who is also a trustee of the PSN Foundation.

The PSN president also disclosed that the Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki has already accepted to be the special guest of honour at the opening ceremony. He tasked the CPC chairman, Pharm. Onyeka Onyeibor and other members of the CPC to work hard and ensure the conference is a big success.

READ  NAPharm Honours Oldest Past PSN President At 88

Responding on behalf of members of the CPC, Pharm. Onyeibor thanked the PSN president for giving him and his members the opportunity to serve, noting that there is nothing greater than a life of service.

Members of the CPC at the event

The CPC chairman noted further that the members of the committee are glad of the privilege to serve the noble profession of Pharmacy and will do all it takes to meet all the legitimate expectations of the PSN.

He however noted that Oluyole 2018 will only be successful if all the members work tirelessly, joyfully and selflessly to make it so, promising that he and members of the CPC will work tirelessly to make the conference a great success.

Also speaking at the event Pharm. Adeyinka Ishola, chairman of the Local Organising Committee (LOC) pledged that the LOC will work very hard with the CPC to make the conference a success, noting that the LOC will showcase the hospitality of Oyo State, the pacesetter state to all pharmacists. The Oluyole 2018, Pharm. Adeyinka said will be a conference to be remembered in the future for great things and a fantastic send forth for Pharm. Yakasai who will be bowing out as president of PSN at the conference.

Members of the CPC are Pharm. Onyeka Onyeibor,  chairman, Pharm.Victor Afolabi , vice chairman; Pharm. Emeka Duru, secretary; Pharm. Ikenna Orakwe, member  and Pharm.(Lady) Chinedum Ilozor, member.

READ  Curbing Drug Abuse Requires Pharmacists to be Sole Custodians of Medicines, Says Ohuabunwa

Other members are pHarm. Oluwatosin Adeyemi; Pharm. B.F.O. Adeniran; Pharm. (Barr.) Steve Okoronkwo; Pharm. Tawa Arilesere; Pharm. Arinola Joda; Pharm.Gbolagade Iyiola; Pharm. Adefolake Adeniyi; Pharm. Ukamaka Okafor; Pharm. Bankole  Ezebuilo; Pharm. (Dr) Kelly Nwagha; Pharm. Chijioke Onwadike; Pharm. Damian Izuka; Pharm.Egbuna Udeorah; Pharm. Gali Sule; Pharm.(Dr)  Audi Mohammed ; Pharm. Wale Oladigbolu; Pharm. Clement  A.Hamidu.

Pharm. Adeyinka Ishola is chairman LOC and Pharm.A.Ajibade is co-chairman, LOC.