34 pharmacists, six pharmacy graduates bag PSN merit award


In appreciation of their valuable contributions to the pharmacy profession and the society at large, 34 pharmacists and the six best graduating students of the Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Lagos (UNILAG), recently bagged the prestigious merit award of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN), Lagos State chapter, recently.

The awardees included Pharm. (Dr) Moyosore Adejumo ; Pharm. (Mrs) Mobolanle Adekoya; Pharm. Chika Agughasi; Pharm. Monica Eimunjeze; Pharm. Bukky George; Pharm. Martins Igbonacho; Pharm. Rametu Momodu; Pharm. Ogheneochuko Omaruaye; Pharm. (Barr.) Steve Okoronkwo; Pharm. Chijioke Onyia and Pharm. Ekundayo Osinubi.

The awards were presented at a colourful luncheon held at the Lagos Sheraton Hotel & Towers, Ikeja, chaired by Pharm. Olakunle Ekundayo, chairman/CEO, Drugfield Pharmaceuticals and also graced by Dr Paul Orhii, director general, NAFDAC; Pharm. Olumide Akintayo, president, PSN; and Mr R. A. Narayan, president, Worldwide Commerical Ventures Limited.

In his welcome address at the occasion, Pharm. Gbenga Olubowale, chairman, PSN, Lagos State branch, said that the 2015 annual luncheon and merit award ceremony was to herald the Pharmacy Week and raise funds for the society’s activities while celebrating professional colleagues who had distinguished themselves in service to the pharmacy profession and the general public.

He congratulated the award winners and urged them to see their recognition as a call for them to do more for the profession and the society.

Chairman of the occasion, Pharm. Ekundayo, in his opening remarks, congratulated pharmacists on their contributions to the nation, while equally urging the awardees to continue supporting the profession.

He noted that his company, Drugfield, had always demonstrated the love for the pharmacy profession by opening its doors for the training of intern pharmacists, as well as for research purposes and manufacturing of affordable medicines for Nigerians.

In his own remarks, PSN President, Pharm. Akintayo, commended the leadership of the Lagos PSN for sustaining the merit award, of which he was once a recipient.

He also commended the Dr Paul Orhii-led leadership of NAFDAC, noting that the PSN had enjoyed a very good relationship with the agency since Dr Orhii became its helmsman. He urged pharmacists to continue to maintain the right resolve despite the challenges facing the profession, adding that pharmacy would ultimately overcome such obstacles.

Dr Paul Orhii,in his address at the event, congratulated the merit award winners, especially the four deputy directors at NAFDAC honoured at the occasion. He also thanked the PSN president for his cooperation with and support for NAFDAC, adding that even though Pharm. Akintayo objected to his appointment when he first come on board, he (Akintayo) embraced him once he realised he meant well for the pharmacy profession and pharmacists.

The highlight of the occasion was the presentation of award plaques to the 40 awardees.Awards

Pharm. Gbenga Olubowale presenting award plaque to Pharm. Monica Eimunjeze, director, registration and regulatory affairs, NAFDAC, during the PSN event.