Lagos PSN fetes pharmacists, best pharmacy students


–  Holds 2016 annual luncheon/award ceremony

Pharmacists and friends of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN) Lagos State Chapter had a swell time at the 2016 Annual Luncheon and Award Ceremony held by the Society at the Sheraton Hotel and Towers, Ikeja, Lagos.

Lagos PSN fetes pharmacists, best pharmacy students
L-R: Pharm. Gbenga Olubowale, chairman, PSN, Lagos State Chapter; Mr Sanjay Upadhyaya, head of special business unit, World Wide Commercial Venture Limited (WWCVL) and Pharm. (Mrs) Rametu Momodu, deputy director, NAFDAC, during the Lagos PSN 2016 annaul luncheon/award ceremony

The colourful event, chaired by Mr R. A. Narayan, managing director, World Wide Commercial Ventures Limited (WWCVL), who was represented by Mr Sanjay Upadhyaya, head of special business unit, WWCVL, was also graced by eminent pharmacists, including Pharm. Olumide Akintayo, immediate past present, PSN; Pharm. (Sir) Nnamdi Obi, managing director/CEO, Embassy Pharm. & Chem. Ltd; Pharm. Iyiola Gbolagade, national secretary, PSN; Pharm. (Prince) ‘Gbenga Falabi, national chairman, NAIP; and Pharm. (Mrs) Rametu Momodu, deputy director of NAFDAC.

Speaking during the opening ceremony, Lagos PSN chairman, Pharm. Gbenga Olubowale, praised pharmacists for their support to the association and urged them to continue the gesture.

He disclosed further that the Lagos PSN was celebrating the eleven best graduating students of the Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Lagos, for the 2014/2015 session, as a way of encouraging the young pharmacists who are the future of the profession.

The Lagos PSN, Olubowale said, was also recognising and giving the Pillar of Pharmacy Award to Dr Fidelis Ayabae, MD/CEO, Fidson Healthcare Plc, in recognition of his huge contributions to the pharmaceutical sub-sector of the Nigerian economy and the health care sector in general.

The highlights of the occasion included the presentation of award plaques and cheques to the eleven best graduating students: Smith Ayoola Babalola, Ajenifuja Azeezat Omotola, Esan Oluwakemi Elizabeth, Oyegbesan Adenike Adeola, Elijah Tope Margaret, Aminu Adeola Aminu, Adelekan Titilope Adebisi, Akinnawo Innocent Dain, Okwelogu Chukwudi Emmanuel, Onyeuma Chioma Cynthia and Okpara Uchechi Adaeze.

Aside Lagos PSN, some of the dignitaries at the occasion also doled out various sums of  money to the students. Dignitaries who gave cash gifts to the students were Pharm. (Sir) Nnamdi Obi; Pharm. Ike Onyechi; Pharm. (Prince) ‘Gbenga Falabi, on behalf of the Association of Industrial Pharmacists of Nigeria (NAIP); Pharm. Gbenga Olayeye, on behalf of Fidson; and Mr Sanjay Upadhaya on behalf of WWCVL.

Speaking on behalf of his student colleagues, Smith Ayoola Babalola, the overall best graduating student, thanked the Lagos PSN for the award and cash gift, noting that all the students were equally grateful for the recognition and cash gift.

The major highlight of the occasion was the presentation of the Pillar of Pharmacy Award to Dr Fidelis Ayebae, the managing director/CEO, Fidson Healthcare Plc, who was represented by Pharm. Olugbenga Olayeye, sales and marketing director, Fidson Healthcare Plc.

Pharm. Olayeye, speaking after receiving the award, expressed the appreciation of Dr Ayebae and Fidson for the recognition. He pledged the commitment of Fidson to the Lagos PSN and the pharmaceutical industry.